Is there a driver’s license suspension for a DWI in Texas? Have you been charged recently with driving while intoxicated or DWI in Texas? Are you wondering if your driver’s license will be suspended?
In the video, Attorney Nathan Wood talks about driver’s license suspension related to a DWI charge in Texas. Mr. Wood has many years of experience with Texas DWI law and criminal law as both a prosecutor and a defense attorney. He’s currently an Assistant District Attorney in College Station, Texas.
You should hire an attorney to represent you if you’ve been charged with a DWI.
We have five offices in three counties across Southeast Texas. Our offices are in Wharton and El Campo in Wharton County, Fulshear and Richmond in Fort Bend County, and Bay City in Matagorda County. You can make appointments at any of our offices by calling or texting 800-929-1725. You can also send us an email by using our contact form.
Summary of the Driver’s License Suspension for TX DWI Video
A lot of people ask about how a DWI arrest or a DWI conviction will affect their driver’s license. That’s a good question. That’s an important question because many people depend on their driver’s license to get to and from work, to drop kids off at school and to generally go about carrying out the business of daily life. It’s a hard question to answer, because there are so many aspects.
There Can be a Driver’s License Suspension after a DWI Arrest
In general after a DWI arrest, there are certain mandatory provisions that are triggered that can result in various types of driver’s license suspensions. Initially, upon arrest, either by a refusal or by the failure of a breath test, a driver’s license suspension may occur that can last as little as 90 days or up to 180 days.
A DWI Conviction Can Result in a Driver’s License Suspension
If you are convicted of DWI, either after a trial or if you plead guilty, that DWI conviction can result in a driver’s license suspension that lasts between 90 days and one year. If you can work out an arrangement with the court or with the prosecutor to receive probation that includes DWI classes and a victim impact panel on a first conviction for DWI, you can avoid additional license suspensions after that additional mandatory license suspension.
On a first offense that includes jail time, though, your driver’s license will be suspended for a period of time between 90 days and one year. A second offense DWI will result in a license suspension that lasts at least six months and can last up to two years. If you pick up a second DWI within five years of your first, there is a mandatory one year driver’s license suspension.
With a CDL, the Consequences for Your Driver’s License Can be More Severe
If you are the owner of a commercial driver’s license or CDL, the consequences for your driver’s license can be much more severe. There’s a mandatory one year suspension upon conviction for DWI, and if you ever get a second DWI then there’s a mandatory lifetime ban on a commercial driver’s license. If you refuse to participate in a breath or blood test, or you fail a breath or blood test, there’s also a mandatory one year driver’s license suspension for commercial driver’s license holders.
You Need Experienced Representation if You’re Charged with DWI in Texas
Given the potential for a lengthy driver’s license suspension and jail time, you should hire an experienced lawyer to represent you as soon as possible after you’ve been charged with DWI. Your lawyer’s experience should include DWI law and DWI trials. Our WPHK lawyers have the experience you need.
Call or text 800-929-1725 for an appointment at any of our offices in Wharton and El Campo in Wharton County, Fulshear and Richmond in Fort Bend County and Bay City in Matagorda County. You can also send us an email by using our contact form.
Mr. Wood has done some other informational videos on Texas DWI law. Those are: